The Council is the executive organ of SportAccord and carries out the policies established by the Members.

The Council consists of nine people:
  • 1 President, elected by the General Assembly;
  • 3 members designated by the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF);
  • 2 member designated by the Association of International Olympic Winter Sports Federations (AIOWF);
  • 2 members designated by the Association of IOC Recognised International Sports Federations (ARISF);
  • 1 member designated by the Alliance of Independent Members of SportAccord (AIMS);
  • 1 member designated by the Associate Members that do not belong to any of the above groups.

Each organisation/group applies its own procedure to designate its representatives.

The Council is elected every four years.

Patrick Baumann
President (2016)

The Secretary General of FIBA, Patrick Baumann has had a distinguished career in sports administration spanning almost 2 decades. A former basketball referee, he also boasts of a degree in law and is fluent in 5 languages. The buzz of a sports arena still drives him to stay close to the action and the development of basketball, particularly in emerging pockets of influence around the world keeps him passionately occupied with his job.
Raffaele Chiulli
Vice President (2016)

Dr. Rafaelle Chiulli is a doctor in science from the University of Rome and the current president of the International Powerboating Federation (UIM). He was elected to the post in 2007 and won the election for the presidency of the Association of (IOC) Recognised International Sports Federations (ARISF) in 2013. His campaign for change has ensured that ARISF members are working closely with all their stakeholders with an intention of maintaining the relevance of their respective sports with evolving sporting practices.

Stephan Fox
Vice President (2016)

Stephan Fox (born 1963 in Germany) is a former Muaythai world champion and the current General Secretary of International Federation of Muaythai Amateur (IFMA) and Vice-President of the World Muaythai Council. Stephan and is well known in the Muaythai world as a speaker, mentor and advocate of Thailand's national sport and combat art. His educational background is rooted both in both Germany and Australia, however he now resides in Thailand where he oversees the growth of both Amateur (IFMA) and Professional (WMC) muaythai.

Marisol Casado
Treasurer (2016)

A former triathlete, Marisol Casado has been spearheading the global triathlon movement, starting even before her participation in the first triathlon race held in Spain. Her pioneering role in triathlon is exemplified by the fact that she created the Spanish Triathlon Federation in 1989 and is a founding member of the International Triathlon Union, of which she has been the president since 2008. Her aim is to ensure equality between both sexes in the sporting world and considers triathlon as a perfect sport that ensures this model of equality.

Gian Franco Kasper

A former journalist, Mr. Gian-Franco Kasper has been associated with skiing for over 4 decades, most of which time has been spent with the International Skiing Federation. In 1975, he joined FIS as the secretary general and took over as the president from Marc-Hodler in 1998, a position that he occupies till today. A long-time sports manager, Mr. Kasper is also an IOC member and is the current president of the Association of International Olympic Winter Sports (AIOWF).

Riccardo Fraccari
Member (2015)

A world sport administrator, holding various high-ranking positions, most notably as president of the World Baseball Softball Confederation. He was elected WBSC president in May 2014, and is serving a 7-year term.
Kate Caithness
Member (2016)

Kate Caithness from Scotland was elected President of the World Curling Federation in April 2010. She is the first female president of the WCF and the first female president of an Olympic Winter Sports Federation.

Nenad Lalovic

Member (2016)

Mr. Lalovic has been President of the Wrestling Association of Serbia for 7 years, from 2000 to 2007. In 2006, he joined United World Wrestling (formerly known as FILA) as Board Member and took over from Mr. Martinetti as President in 2013, position he still occupies. Mr. Lalovic is also an IOC Member and a Member of the Executive Committee of the Olympic Committee of Serbia.

Jose Perurena
Member (2016)
A former Olympian, Jose Perurena competed in the 1968 Mexico Olympics as a sprint canoer and has been president of the International Canoe Federation since 2008. He won the election to become president of the International World Games Association in 2014 and will be in charge of the conduct of the 2017 edition of the games in Wroclaw in Poland.